Edwards Lecture Series

Thursday, May 11, 4 p.m.

Learning Innovation Center (LINC) 302

Free and open to the public. Reception to follow. 

Abstract: As a component of governmental reform, the delivery of transportation programs and services is undergoing dramatic change worldwide. There are new models which attempt to separate the linkage of transportation policy and management from the service delivery functions. This presentation will concentrate on the issues of transport policy and the emerging models for delivering programs and services such as outsourcing/concessions, privatization, state owned enterprises, and financing of transport systems. Given the magnitude of the overall investment in highways, this presentation will concentrate on highway transportation. 

Dr. C. Michael Walton researches intelligent transportation systems and intermodal freight logistics in addition to transportation systems engineering, planning, operations and policy analysis. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 1993. In other professional society affairs he is a past Chair of the Board of the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA), past President of the Board of Governors of the Transportation and Development Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), a founding member and past Chair of the Board of Directors of the Intelligent Transportation Society (ITS) of America and a past Chair of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee. He has contributed to more than 500 publications in the areas of ITS, freight transport, and transportation engineering, planning, policy and economics, and he has delivered several hundred technical presentations.


About the series

The Edwards Lecture Series, initiated by Professor Harry Yeh in 2005, is named in honor of Miles Lowell Edwards – an engineering genius – known for his unique and successful inventions. His remarkable achievements included developing prosthetic heart valves, creating timber industry materials to debark trees, and enabling Boeing B-17 aircraft pumps to operate at high altitudes.  

Past lectures  

  • 2005: Michael Longuet-Higgins, “Mass Transport and Wave Damping over Rippled Sea Beds”
  • 2006: Colin Brown, “Modelling of and as Granular Media”
  • 2007: Chiang C. Mei, “Nonlinear Resonance in a Harbor” 
  • 2008: Jim Duncan Smith, “Flow, Sediment Transport, and Geomorphic Adjustment in Rivers”
  • 2009: Robert Guza, “Observations of Southern California Waves and Wave-Driven Processes”
  • 2010: Gary Parker, “Self-Stratification due to Suspended Sediment in Rivers and Turbidity Currents: the Delicate Balance of the Latter” 
  • 2011: Peter Rhines, “Exploring the Subpolar Oceans with Seagliders and Satellite Altimetry”
  • 2013: Greg Lawrence, “Waves and Currents: Hawking Radiation in the Hydraulics Laboratory”
  • 2014: Brian Kirby, “Geometrically Enhanced Differential Immunocapture: Using Obstacle Arrays in Microfluidic Devices to Enhance Efficient and Pure Rare Cell Capture from Fluid Suspensions” 
  • 2015: Juan Restrepo, “Taking Uncertainties into Account in Geosciences, Physics, and Engineering” 
  • 2016: Thomas E. Boothby, "Engineering Iron and Stone
  • 2017: Gregory G. Deierlein, "From Performance-Based Engineering to Earthquake Resilience